As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“This essay will discuss why growth of technology might or might not hamper the ability of humans to think freely and clearly.

With every worthwhile invention that we have had, there have been plethora of pessimists who have apprised society about way that it can harm us. One of the most prominent is the invention of press machine in Gutenberg, many said the it would keep young people isolated and make them dumber. Clearly after centuries we have seen that it is not the case. Although we shouldn’t go all-in for new technology and think about its advantages and disadvantages for humanity, generally novel innovations aid us in doing strenuous tasks for instance writing copies of books by hand or manually analyze a differential equation and nowadays recognizing faces for authentication.

I am not trying to imply that not technology can be used to harm us, for example if we consider catastrophic effects of nuclear weapon or even everyday CO2 emitted from cars, and today we try to get rid of the need for cars by either promoting use of electric cars or even designing and redesigning cities around pedestrians and cyclists. Things aren’t that simple for nuclear weapons, obviously no government has authority to pressure others to abolish all of their weapons and that is a real issue for not only world peace but also to future of humanity.

Sure we use less of our thinking ability to calculate 5-digit multiplication or remember phone numbers but that doesn’t mean we have stopped using out brains, we simply allocated that time to more important matters like brainstorming for new ideas, exploring edge of science or reading more that we would’ve. Imagine how many more novel ideas Einstein would’ve have thought of instead of spending time on arduous calculations.

In the end I think in the case of technology the benefits outweigh the costs. We have to be weary of ways it could threaten us like AI giving wrong results for patient’s diagnosis or deteriorating our ability to focus with short form content of social media but once we know these we can adapt and use it to our benefit.