As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, their ability to think for themselves reduces.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is a boon for mankind. Humans have always needed tools in one form or another to achieve a task they can’t accomplish by themselves. Technology is one of them and is, indeed, a very good one.

In accomplishing a task, we have to perform a few steps. Technology can perform a few of them and reduce the amount of time spent on a problem. For example: Let’s say we had to think about formulating an equation regarding the spread of disease and figure out the expected number of people based on the current scenario. We have to first form an equation and then solve it. We can concentrate on forming equations and let computers do the solving. This way we save time and get faster results.

Another thing that technology has helped us with is that we are now able to perform experiments to understand how our universe works, or at least try to. We have supercomputers that perform calculations we humans can’t. We have large experimental setups like the Large Hadron Collider that perform experiments to understand our fundamental particles.

Another very important thing that technology allows us to do is to predict the oncoming of any natural disasters and save the lives of thousands of people. We now have satellites that constantly monitor weather patterns and warn us of any upcoming natural calamities. For example, the oncoming of the cyclone in India in 2020, from the Bay of Bengal, was known well in advance and preventive measures were taken which saved the lives of many.

However, humans rely on technology to such a great extent that even tasks like simple calculations or thinking on an easy problem have become tough and people use the internet to get answers immediately. At the same time, using technology requires one to have good knowledge and perform various thinking tasks much more difficult than before.

All things considered, technology is a boon for mankind. And if one knows how to use it wisely, he/she can help achieve great feats.