People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Human behavior is highly subjective to their characteristics and the environment where it exists. So, the action one takes or the way one behaves depends on a number of factors. The author contends that the behavior of humans depends on external factors which might be under their own control. I mostly agree with the statement for the following reasons.

To begin with, humans, being a social animal, feel secure and at ease in their group, be it their family or their friend circle. In order to fit in, the person might have to conform to the behavior of their friends or their peers, which will certainly have an effect in their actions. For example, Teenagers, in their rebellious phase, might be highly affected by their circle and hence, take actions against their own beliefs to seem to be cool with their friends. It is prominent that adolescents prefer the company of their friends over their family and prioritize the beliefs of their circle over themselves. This will certainly overshadow their judgement. So, the people around us will have a lot of effects on our behavior.

Moreover, the actions and decisions of a person will also be affected by the environment he or she lives in. People living in urban areas will make different choices to complement their lifestyle whereas people in the countryside might have different thoughts. For example, People in a poor family have a limited number of choices or actions as compared to an affluent group. The poor person might want to do a number of things like starting a business, visiting different countries but might have to resist their temptations due to a lack of economic support. However, If he were to be rich and famous, he might have to think twice before walking around the city to prevent their fans gathering around or paparazzi taking pictures. Hence, the environment of the person has certainly affected their behavior.

However, it is not to say that humans are incapable of independent thinking and thus, have to be dependent on external factors. People often make choices against their situation or close circles. For example, if there were no independent thinkers there would not be much innovation in the world. Galileo contended that the sun was the center of the universe and the earth revolved around it, in a time when everyone was convinced that earth was the center of the universe. If he didn’t research independently, he would have conformed with the religious group causing a great blow to scientific development. Hence, it might not be true to assert that the behavior of a person is not under his own control.

In conclusion, the behavior of a person is subjective to a number of reasons including their family and friend circles, their environment in which they grew and even their own experiences. However, people might, sometimes, resist conformity and show independence in behavior regardless of the above factors.