People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Can a person be deeply committed to an idea mean that they are diffident about it at the same time as mentioned by the author? History says otherwise.

Faraday spent around twenty five years moving a magnet in and around a copper coil to find the right combination that can produce electricity. There would have been days where he might have lost hope but, finally he figured the right way. Such was his committment to his idea, there are various such examples such as the Indian Space Research Organization. Now known for its achievements, but had its own share of disasters. It had seen various failed rocket launches and the government was criticized for diverting the money to such fancy projects instead of using it to alleviate the poor. Had it's scientists been critical of their work or their ideas, there would be no ISRO.

In the past various social reformers such as Raja Ram Mohan Roy have faught draconian cultural practices against women in India, Mahatma Gandhi during Independence movement of India, Martin Luther King Jr for the rights of African-Americans and Nelson Mandela against Apartheid. No where in the history, can we find examples where these people have cowered or have thought otherwise about their ideas. This and the examples of various organizations like ISRO show that a person or a group of people who doubt their ideas cannot be deeply committed to it.

But there are cases where people must study the implications of their ideas or policies from every angle. Consider the case of a politician who wishes to bring in a new law, he must look at both the positive and the negative aspects of it before presenting it in the assembly. We can take the example of Demonetisation that took place in India, various low income groups have been affected and are still feeling it's effect till date. The policy makers boasted it as an anti-corruption measure but, had they been bit more critical about their idea, they would have implemented it better.

When a person is deeply committed to an idea they will show their diligence, remain sedulous and if they doubt their own beliefs they cannot be said deeply committed.