People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I believe that making decisions on emotion and retroactively justifying them with logic does not make the person a poor decision maker. The situation in which these decisions are made is an important factor to consider. Our emotions are an instantaneous way that our body analyzes our interaction with the environment we are in. Most RomCom movies show the male lead showing up to the girls house unannounced and showering the female with gifts and trinkets. This brings a feeling of romance and spontaneity. However in horror-stalker movies, the male lead would show up to the girls house bearing gifts as well, but this brings up emotions of discomfort and fear. While on the outside environment may be the same, the emotional outcome are completely different. Understanding his nuance in our emotional decision making is important. if you make all of your decisions based on your gut feeling, then you are not approaching the problem with the grace and --- that is requires in order to do well.

I believe that poor decision makers are those who choose to make emotional decisions when there is an option to approach a problem with some degree of logic. For example if a person were to propose to their partner on an emotional impluse without considering the major implications of marriage, then that person is a poor decision maker. Someone can love their partner with all their heart, however if the couple cannot agree on their finances, or raising a family, or any of the other aspects that are involved in a long term commitment, then no amount of retrospective logic can help the situation. The fundemental disagreements cannot be resolved by emotion. On the flip side if a bear is attacking you and you make a emotional decision then, that has no bearing on your decision making skills. Time is a factor, and there are times when you have to base your decisions on your "gut" feeling over the logical approach. A poor decision maker is someone who chooses emotion over logic.