People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

In one's day-to-day life, an individual constantly steers his or her life to different avenues with every decision he or she makes. While there is a certain role of chance in how our lives turn out, by and large, it is our decisions and the choices that we make that land us in favorable or unfavorable circumstances. Decision-making is a skill that is part and parcel of every human activity and every field of work - be it running the government, running a business, running an army or even looking after the household. It is a skill that is only honed by years and years of experience and is the most important weapon that a successful leader must be equipped with.

Given the significance of how one correct decision can result in vastly different and better outcomes than a bad decision that leads to poor conditions, it is imperative to make decisions objectively to avoid errors. When one's vision is clouded by emotion, one often develops a tunnel vision and ends us making all the wrong decisions. For instance, a person that has lived in poverty for a major part of his life might spend every last penny when he suddenly receives the slightest increase in his income. Such a person is prone to making decisions out of a mindset of desperation and thus fails to see the bigger picture. On the other hand, taking a decision based on logic, allows one to view a situation from all aspects and such decisions shall more likely ensure longer-lasting solutions to problems.

However, some people often make decisions based on emotion and then attempt to defend it on the basis of logic. Consider a student who gives into procrastination and laziness and does not study for a test. As a result, the student fails in class. Now such a student might try to defend her decision to not study by citing the extremely high percentage of failures in her class and claiming that the odds were not in her favor anyway. Such a justification is incorrect since ex ante the student had no basis to determine this probability of failure and made her decision purely on an emotional impulse. In fact she could have studied a lot harder and ended up in the minority of students who performed well in the class.

On the other hand, some might argue that being overly dry and methodical in your decisions hampers one's ability to empathize and connect with the emotions of others. For instance, a policy-maker needs to empathize with the sufferings of the poor in drafting policies. However, I say that while being aware of all psychological and emotional aspects associated with a problem is important, finally any decision must be made with sound logic and sensibility otherwise decisions shall result in even worse conditions. For instance, such a policy-maker cannot simply start handing out money to the poor to alleviate their problems as that will result in a horde of other challenges.

Hence I agree with the notion that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.