People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotional decision making is what it means by listening to your heart. We have heard everyone say, right from our childhood to listen to your heart. If it is so much advocated, then, definitely, a decision based on emotion will be a good one.

There is an age-old saying: 'Listen to your heart' which everyone knows, but fails to listen to. Those who came up with such a statement were mavericks of their time who defied all logic to rise up in society. In fact, it holds true for every person who has achieved something that might have seemed impossible at their time. Take an example of Bill Gates who was the co-founder of Microsoft. Microsoft Inc of today is a business giant which controls a major part of our everyday life. But, in the inchoate stages, for Bill Gates to quit his job and start a software company with the aim of a computer at every desk will seem illogical, in fact, some might have even said poor decision. But, fast-forward a decade, Microsoft has wrestled away money and power from its competitors like IBM to become one of the tech-jewels. The key take-away from this is that if one listens to their heart, and make a decision based on emotion and they are able to justify it with logic later, it is most likely they have made the right decision, however, it might seem at the time.

One thing with making decisions based on emotion is that it allows one to follow their passion. It brings out the inner desire that lies hidden, waiting to be kindled. No one can say what lies ahead for them in the future, whether they made a decision based on emotion or based on logic, but, one thing that is guaranteed is that people who made a decision based on emotion will not go on to regret it later on. These people have defied all logic trying to make a mark in the society and they have the passion that will help them to overcome failures. Take the example of Edison, who kept working on light for many iterations in spite of it seeming impractical at the time. He never gave up. If Edison had thought-'Logically, making a bulb glow seems to be impossible' and gave up, we would still be sitting in the dark, waiting for someone else to defy that logic and go with their emotion and passion to invent the bulb. Because, the people who changed the world are those who were not afraid of following their heart, mankind is living a comfortable life today.

But, sometimes, making decisions based on emotion has its downsides. It could lead to clouded judgement based on one's mood. Say, if one is angry/sad, he/she might be vehement and not in a position to make a sound decision. One must always make a decision when in sound mind and emotional state, not hastily. Making decisions based on emotion does not mean you have to make quick decision, it means that you stand by your decision even after deliberation, however, illogical the outcome might seem.

The world of today has been made a better place by those who were willing to listen to their emotions and heart, even though it meant justifying the choice with logic later on. These people were not and will not ever be termed as poor decision makers. They are the makers of tomorrow, who with their emotion-based decisions will change the world.