“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

One of the most important identifiers of the quality and productivity of the next generation of a nation is the Nation's Education System. The Nation's Education System is a framework which acts as the foundation for anyone to get started academically. A common national curriculum will be one of the very important factor, if not the most, in building that foundation.

A common national curriculum is the first step in ensuring that each and every student of the country is able to get the same level of training and access to same level of resources that any other student gets, irrespective of the socio-economic background. The most unfair advantage that any wealthy person gets is the head-start in their life due to their background without any effort on their part and there should be no space left in the education system for allowing this. Our Education system should ideally present opportunities to students based on their hardwork and talent, but this is far from the truth. The amount of opportunities that is available to a rich person's child in the nation's top schools compared to a poor child is alarming. A common national curriculum is a first step in the right direction to bring down this disparity of opportuities between students of the same country, giving all them access to same quality of Education.

Having a common national curriculum will allow all the students to build their foundations on the same knowledge and this in turn will ensure that only the hardworking students are rewarded. This also has an added benefit that it will help bring down the economic disparity in the country since now, wealthy students have no advantage compared to the poor ones since even if the school they go to are best in the country, the syllabus that they teach is the same as the one they teach in any public/charity-run schools. Also, this common national curriculum will ensure each student is on the same page when they take other national level exams like SAT for admissions the undergrad schools for college.

Though having a common national curriculum is one of the best moves to empower every student of the nation, care must be taken that this is flexible enough to cater to the varying needs of all students, since the talents of every student is different and they must not be made to try to fit in. Rather the system should be flexible. If done right, this move has the power to change the quality of the next generation