People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The discussion on the interplay between logic and emotion is one as old as the hills. Some consider themselves hardline emotion supporters, while some believe logic must precede and influence any decision in life. Rarely does it seem there is a happy medium between the two. I believe people who make decisions with emotion and justify with logic ex post facto are not inherently bad decision-makers and there are a few examples to support this belief.

In modern debate and media, there seems to be a stigma against making decisions with one's feelings. This side of the conversation does little to recognize the average human makes innumerable decisions in their daily life based on feelings rather than facts and logic. At the most basic level, think about the way in which you make a decision about what clothes you are going to wear. Yes, the weather that day -- the fact of the matter -- does dictate what you wear, however I contest feelings -- for example, the texture, color, comfortability and size -- of an article of clothing influences your decision more than logic and facts. This reliance on feelings does not make you a bad decision-maker. Relying on your intuition, trust and identity can make for a good decision in itself.

Further, and on a more serious and consequential level, people usually make some of their biggest life decisions on feelings. In (traditional) chronological order, people sometimes choose their college, their husband, wife or partner and the first house they buy with emotion and feelings. Now, yes, these decisions are usually influenced by the facts and logic of the matter. For example, when choosing a college a student is more than likely considering the cost and return on investment of attending a particular college over another. Likewise, a person is more than likely considering the resale value, price per square foot and the quality of the roof, windows and heater when buying a home. That said, there are innumerable examples of non-quantitative measures that can influence a person's decision regarding the choice of a college and the purchase of a home. In the example of the college choice, a prospective student might heavily consider the way in which the campus looks or feels, the quality of the food in the dining hall and the budding relationship they might have with a professor. In the example of the home, a person might be influenced by qualitative factors like the friendliness of the neighbors, the quality of the local schools and the feel and look of the nearby houses. To reiterate, the consideration of these emotional factors -- ones not always rooted in fact -- doesn't make a person a poor decision-maker.

To conclude, again, there is value in logic when making decisions, but just because you use emotion doesn't mean you're doomed to failure. Such thinking is supported by many consumer and personal choices hundreds and thousands of people make in their daily lives.