People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When facing a big decision, many people find themselves battling between what they feel they should do and what they think they should do. Some decide based on what they feel, meaning based on their emotions, but justify their decision by claiming it was what they should have done, meaning that it was the logical thing to do. In my opinion, such people are poor decision makers for various reasons.

Firstly, in most cases, decisions should be made while weighing both emotional and logical factors, and only very rarely should a decision be made by taking only one of them into account. Most signifcant decisions are decisions in which the decider will be largely affected by his actions, as well as many people around him, and in such cases, it is crucial to take into account both what would be the logical thing to do, but also what the decider would be able to stomach, meaning what his emotions guide him to do. For example, when choosing which graduate school to enroll in, it seems that the best decision would be made if it included logical factors, such as the teaching quality of the school, and emotional ones, such as where the decider would feel most at home. Since this is true to most big decisions, I hold the assertion that making decisions based on emotions alone, later justifying them by logic, is a poor method of decision making.

Secondly, even in the rare cases in which it seems legitamite to make a decision based soley on emotional factors, it would be very wrong to later try and justify such decisions with made up logical claims. A clear example for such a decision, in my opinion, is if one should keep dating someone. Obviously, romantic relationships are mostly affected by emotions, and thus it is legitamite to make such a decision while weighing in only emotional factors. With that said, the decider must admit to himself that he acted in such a way, rather than try and fool himself to think his decision was logical. The act of justifying an emotional decision with false logical explanations is one that turns any decision, even one that can legitimatelly be made based on emotion alone, into a poor one.

Lastly, trying to rationlize emotional decisions based on logical factors is close to immpossible, since emotions usually have a signifcant affect on your rational thinking. For example, if I were to decide if I should study or meet my friends, and my emotions would lure me towards the latter, I would be able to justify such a decision using logical explanations such as the need to take a break from a long day of studying. But in reality, this logical explanation is based mainly on my emotional decision, that affected my rational way of thinking, and therefore is quite irrelavent. If, for example, I would have decided to stay home and study, I would have been able to find just as much logical justifications that would persuade me to do so, and therefore basing decisions on logical justifications that presede emotional one's is poor decision making.

Of course, many would argue that such decision making can not be seen as poor, since it is basic human nature to be lured to the decision you most want to take, and later try and justify it. This assertion has some merit, but it only explains why people make such decisions, rather than provide proof that they are good ones. I do agree that natural inclinations make us take decisions based on emotional factors, but this does not make such decision making proccesses good.

In conclusion, emotional decision making that is covered up by false logical justifications is, in my opinion, poor judgement that should be avoided as much as possible. While it might be natural to do so, one must avoid such decision making when he is able to.