People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Attitude is the psychological tendency that is expressed by evaluating certain object, including the phrase ‘like and dislike’, ‘optimistic and perssimistic’, ‘calm and horrific’, ‘happy and melancholy’. And people’s attitude always changes, sometimes they become conflicting and ambivalent toward an object. However, people’s attitudes often are influenced by both their immediate situation or surroundings and society as a whole, and other factors like their internal characteristics. Among all these factors, it is hard to decide the accurate proportion of each factor that it plays a role in forming people’s attitude.

In the process of growing up, people gradually form their own perception, behavior, emotion, idea toward the outside world by their immediate situation or surroundings. Earlier, when they are a child, they are influenced mostly by the members of their family, who teach them talk, walk, and express their feelings. Later, with the expansion of their social circle, they are gradully integrated into the community of a bigger scope, such as circle of schoolmate or friend or colleague, and other different circles of business. Their standpoint and attitude are greatly affected by people around them. Generally speaking, a family with an atmosphere of happiness, hard work, equality, solidarity, easily cultivates a happy, optimistic, diligent child; a person who gets along with a group of joyful, positive, loving, coadjutant friends is more sanguine, benevolent, but a man who plays with a pack of rogues like marauding gang and drug dealers also develops a bad habit, even walk up on the way to crime. At work, people can learn cooperation and competitiveness with his colleagues, and their attitudes largely depend on their working conditions and atmosphere. For instance, a man who had ever experienced earthquake, tsunami, would become more adamant, bravery. No doubt, people always are influenced by their surroundings to varying degrees.

On the other hand, it is inevitable that people are increasingly affected by the whole society due to their contact with more and more things, not confining within the scope of their immediate situations or surroundings. They can read books from home and abroad, travel to various areas to understand local customs and practices, even obtain a lot of information about the world by the internet, all of which will have a subtle influence on one’s concept, behavior. For example, Bill Gates, the founder of microsoft, is the richest man in the world but is also the greatest philanthropist, whose action produces deep influence on the world, Mayun, the CEO of alibaba, imitates Gates to become the no.1 philanthropist in China. The campaign against terrorism after the 9.11 event has become the global concensus in which people well understand the hazard of terrorist organization. Moreover, poetical justice in a nation will promote people’s consciousness of good morality, a clean-figured, just and fair, highly-efficient government is the great model of all the fields in its society. Laws, as a kind of mandatory measure, keep people in order and make them to behave legally to live in the society.

With the passing to time, the adults, who gradually have developed their own stable outlook and value on life. Particularly, an old man usually makes his own analysis independently while facing all kinds of objects, and this analysis is based on his experience, education, cognition, less influenced by outside environemnet. His characteristics are his attitudes towards objects, his world vision is his viewpoint toward the world, as a guide of his action to dominate him to pursue his goal and realize his dream. The correct, scientific world view orientates people to a correct diretion, and vice versa. So, how important a person develops good characteristics in his life.

As a matter of fact, immediate situation or surroundings and the society join hands to exert their influence on people’s attitudes during different periods. But, finally, a man, who is in the old age, has formed a stable attitude towards objects, the reason of which is that they have experienced everyting that what’s possible has been done, and they have known human joys and sorrows.