People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Never in the history of humanity have we witnessed such a great accentuation on what cultivate the people’s behavior. Proponents of the environment people live in claims that people are mainly affected by the outside, while the opponents contends that it is self-determined.

One compelling argument advocated by the proponent is that people is the products of the society. All of us grow in a family as we were born, which is also a small part of the society, and must accept the influence from outside all the time. It means that people’s thinking and behavior results from the environment essentially. Therefore, most of time, people should passively take actions to adapt to whatever the society is, in order to live longer and more harmonious. Take Inuit as an example, due to the harsh condition they lived in, they have to construct special house and hunting to sustain their lives. Thus, their living habits are dominated by the environment which is something they can not control at all.

On the contrary, what the opponents insist to argue is that the person himself attaches much importance in determining his behavior. Human have the ability of discretionary, which means they can judge things by themselves rather than accept all without consideration. So if there is some regulations or convention they find unreasonable, they would like to insist their behaviors instead of accommodating. In this process, people rather than environment is crucial in cultivating their own behavior.

Besides, since people live in a society and a society is made up by every person, the two must interact and influence each other. For example, in the last 18th century, the Slavery was implemented and most all Americans accepted in the very beginning. However, there were some people considering it as irrational, so they rejected to attune themselves and make a revolution against it. Finally they rescinded the Slavery and changed the society largely. Obviously, according to the value people support, they will always revise their behaviors, either to conform or oppose, which is likely to affect the outside environment. Of course, the environment will determined by most people’s values.

Weighing the two claims against each other, it is my personal conviction that people’s right to choose the style of their thinking and behavior is enhanced in the modern period, as the global economy and multicultural values evokes openness and tolerance of our society. Within a certain range, people can arrange their own life without any constraint, only to assuring not breaking laws and not harm to others.