People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

Why do people react the way they do? It is a complex question to answer. Social media and Newspapers are the real time petri dish for a person who wants to analyse the human behaviour. At one fold you read about a person who wants to take everyone to mars, build emission free vehicles and 3D transportation network, all at once-hint: Elon Musk, in second you will read about a “rape and murder” or “murder and rape” of a newborn child. It hurts the sensibilities of any sane person as to what is the circuitry that drives these vastly different complex neural machinery. I believe that

human behaviour is determined by myriads of personal and environmental factors.

It is quite intuitive to assume that experiences a person have broadly determines their behaviour. If a person has been exposed to love and care and rewarded for good behaviour while being reprimanded for anti-social or otherwise morally deficient behaviour from an early age, it seem plausible that this particular person is unlikely to project bad behaviour onto society. This begs the question that weather there is actually something as “free will”? Are we just reflecting what we learnt from our environment. Our brain seems to be no more than a black-box of electrical and chemical circuitry that is just idly passing on instruction that have already been imprinted on it long before. What about the experience one have due to the choices they consciously make. For example: Choosing a bad relationship. A relationship is one of many things a person chooses for himself that is known to effect the behaviour of people. People consciously choose to stay in it even though it drives them to take extreme actions. Can we then really argue that people’s behaviour is largely determined by the parameters they don’t control.

I would like to temper my argument by delineating that human behaviour is at least in part controlled by factors that are not in their control. There is a documented academic literature behind the psychology of Psychopathy and Sociopathy. People who grew up in an environment rife with crime and poverty are at the higher risk of developing sociopathic tendencies. Psychopathy is still believed to be an artifact of inchoate neuro-chemical developments during the conception. But one can argue that there lot of colorful people ranging from comedians to entrepreneurs who came from humble backgrounds. For example: Richard Pryayr a comedic genius who grew up in such communities. it is believed that it helped him to view the world in a different but humorously perverse way. So I would maintain that it is how an individual deals with the hardships they are subjected to, crystallizes their personality.

It would be disingenuous for anyone, even the experts of human psychology, to exactly pin point the causality of actions of any individual. But I believe that life is indeed a difficult and mostly lonely ordeal. Every individual has to face their fair share of struggles and have to carry the burden of their actions for seventy long years. It would be unfair for other individuals to take the blame for actions of an individual.