People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

Human behavior has been a topic for centuries. Why do we behave the way we do? While it largely pessimistic to believe humans do not have free will, I agree with the statement that our behavior is largely determined by external forces. Psychological and biological forces, along with our environment, drive our behavior.

There is a plethora of theories on human behavior, and a large quantity of them have shown that external forces cause us to act in certain ways. In psychology, operant and classical conditioning are empirically supported theories that address how we learn and act. One of the most famous experiments in psychology, maintained that behavior can be taught to occur similar to a reflex. Pavlov’s dog learned the conditioned response of salivating at the sound of a bell. The dogs had no control over their drooling, it was almost instinctual. This phenomenon has been found in humans too. The relatively nascent field of applied behavior analysis uses operant conditioning and principles discovered by Skinner to explain behavior. ABA Therapy has been widely successful in teaching autistic children prosocial behavior. This is done by using positive and negative reinforcement. Other research has found neurological pathways, brain structures, and hormones to be the cause of behavior. For example, the amygdala in the subcortical region of the brain has been discovered to be responsible for the emotion of fear. An experiment removed the amygdala of a mouse, and the mouse lost its fear of its cats. In fact, the mouse approached the cat as if to play. This goes against all reason that we have some control over our emotions, in turn controlling how we behave in certain situations.

Our environment also influences our behavior. Forces, such as laws, social expectations, and parenting, control how we act. Laws, although not always, prevent crimes from being committed. The fear of jail time, fines, and a criminal record is enough to keep many citizens from acting the way they wish. Most of the homeless population in this country do not steal consistently, despite the fact that they are starving. This is because there are laws in place and they are very aware of the consequences. Most of the time, it is enough to keep them from robbing the nearest convenience store. Social expectations also have a strong influence on us. One may hold back thoughts or dress a certain way in fear of being judged by their peers.. Lastly, how we are raised largely influences how we act. It goes back to centuries old debate of nurture vs nature. Psychological research has shown that parenting styles largely determine personalities later in life. Authoritative parenting styles lead to perfectionism while neglectful styles lead to insecurity and anxiety. Personality traits are essential to how we behave. Someone high in anxiety might avoid social situations and someone high in perfectionism may choose a less demanding career they can be perfect at.

In conclusion, we are shaped by forces outside ourselves. Although, we may have some choice in how we act, what we do is largely determined by biological forces and our environment. Research has proven this time and time again but has yet to prove the concept of free will.