A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The issue that whether a person who commits a crime and is proven guilty by the concerned judiciary system should retain any civil rights or not is a contentious one. The individual has committed a crime and thereby broken the protocol assigned by the society. Furthermore, the individual has been involved in an act that questions the humanity of the person. While each side of the issue has its own virtues and shortcomings, I concede with the speaker that individual who has been proven guilty should not be further entitled to enjoy any of his or her civil rights.

First, one of the primary measures to extrapolate the well being of a society is based on the social safety of its citizens. Thus the law and order is established in the form of a judiciary system. Which ensures that the citizens are given their rights and that any individual violating the rights of other citizens are thereby punished. Thus as much as it is the responsibility of the administration to ensure that the citizens enjoy their rights, so is it the responsibility of the citizens that they do not indulge in activities that deteriorate the well being of the society as a whole. Thus when the individual fails to follow the contract, the society also has the rights to take back the civil rights given to the citizen.

Second, the citizen proven guilty may have committed a crime that involves the violation of humanity and thus if a strict action is not taken against the acquitted, it citizens may lose trust in the judiciary system. For example, the "Nirbhaya" rape case which shook the whole of India involved the brutal rape and murder of an innocent. Four men raped a women passenger in a moving bus and then mercilessly threw away her body on the road. If a stringent action is not taken against the criminals in this case it might so happen that such crimes continue to take place in the future.

Many critics to this view point argue that not all crimes are equally severe. Thus if the citizens are not given their civil rights like the right the reap the benefits of their labor it may lead to the injustice of the part of the criminals who have already been sentenced for their the crime. This in no way undermines the argument that criminals committing severe crimes should be declined the right to enjoy their civil rights. The solution to this can be the setup of a system that ensures that a detailed analysis of various factors like the previous criminal records, the circumstances under which the crime was conducted, etc. must be made before a commensurate abolition of civil rights is applied on the criminal.

In the final analysis of the issue, the criminal should not retain their civil rights if they have been proven guilty. Despite this stand, I concede that each case should be scrutinized before the final call is taken so that no innocent is deprived from their fundamental rights.