A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Crime is an ambiguous term that can be used to characterize an eclectic range of illicit activities. While intentional crime breaks the basic human moral code of civility, crime in itself can't be generalized to have a common ground when discussed in the context of morality. A person who is found guilty of knowingly breaching a legal code of conduct should also have access to basic human necessities as denying a person irrespective of his social status; being a criminal in the discussed case, of his basic civil rights also amounts to breaching another moral code of conduct of humanity.

While there is no denying to the fact that a criminal irrespective of the severity of his crime, must be held accountable and punished accordingly, the severity of crime plays an underlying scrupulous role in deciding the extent of the punishment. As much as a cold-blooded murder can't be compared to a petty theft, punishments to such unscrupulous acts also vary in intensity. The primary intent behind the idea presented in the issue is based in the assumption that as soon as a person decides to step outside the legal boundaries of a society, he or she no longer deserves to enjoy the common grounds of the civil right as cherished by law abiding citizens.

It is the different circumstances, within which a person decides to give up the benefits one enjoys from such right, that question the viability of the idea. A petty thief might have a family of four and in the paucity of employment caused by government policies and or tumultuous financial conditions of a country's economy, decides to take the path of crime to fulfill his basic human needs. Such an implementation will not only deprive the criminal of his basic human rights but also will exacerbate the prosperity of his household leading ultimately to the demise of faith for law in his family and possibly within his close friends.

However, if a person is irritated by his office boss who asks the person to show up to work on time decides to take the life of his boss' son to prove a point and admits to not having any regret, such a person, who possibly suffers from psychological conditions stands to lose all of his civil rights.

In the light of given examples, the idea seems to be lying in a grey region between civil and penal morality. Since it is the merit of one's crime that should decide the severity of his sentencing, accordingly in the context of the severity of his crime and dangers he or she poses to the society, they should be stripped of their civil rights.