A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The topic posits a dubious case of whether to strip of a criminal's civil rights. Crime is hard terminology to be defined. Crime should be punished, and the criminal has to take the responsibility for the crime. But the judgements on whether the criminal should be punished by removing their civil rights is not the correct way to enforce the law. The root of the evil has to be detected in order to make any decision. In some cases, the person who is committing the crime might have their respective circumstances lead them to violate the law. Yet, no person shouldn't take the law into their own hands. Thus, before making any crucial, life-defining judgement, the criminal's root of the crime has to be judged. Also, there should be some varying degree of punishments. People who are concocting a bigger crime shouldn't get the same punishment as a person who has stolen a loaf of bread from a store because he was hungry.

In the first place, always the crime has to be the centre of hatred, not the criminal. The person might have to force his/ her hand into wrongdoings because of their respective circumstances. To illustrate this, the so-called criminal might be committing the crime because he has to pay extraordinary fees for his children's medical care, or has to pay for his sick mother's ailment. Or maybe the particular person has to perform the crime because his boss or the people in the upper echelon wasn't paying their money. So, who is really a criminal in these cases? The boss, who is stealing money from the poor class or the poor people, who had to pay over the odds for medical treatments of their family members. In every case, the criminal doesn't have to be punished blindly, the root or the background of the criminal has to be checked before performing any harsh decision.

Although, committing a crime isn't something that should be taken lightly. Let's say, some student is getting bullied constantly by her seniors. Instead of complaining to the teachers or professors, she took the law into her own hands and give them "punishments" by stealing or misplacing their costly items. In this case, the bullies are responsible to some degree for the crime, but the major responsibility of the crime is the student herself. She should have approached the official ways to cut down the ragging on her. If those endeavours fail to take action, then she might have a valid ground to perform the activity, which might be termed as a crime.

To sum it all up, crime is something that needs to be banished. In order to do so, the person responsible for the crime has to take some punishment for their deeds. Also, the source of the misdeed has to be followed before making any crucial judgements. And there should be a varying degree of punishment for varying degree of crimes. Lastly, the law should be respected at any cost and shouldn't be misused and the very judgement should be equal for all citizens of the society.