Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The job of the politicians of the world, often times, cause them to be in conflict with each other, owing to their differences in ideals and their tendencies to push their own agendas through. The prompt suggests that politicians should reduce the schism between them and settle on a common ground instead of sticking to ideals that cannot, in reality, be achieved. I agree with the prompt for reasons that I elaborate below.

The political strife between opposing parties does not usually produce any good outcome. The result of such disagreements is often and endless series of meaningless debate. Often times, these issues involve making decisions about the wellness of the societies, and politicians meandering and fighting to prove that their policies are the best for the people do not really produce any outcome for these people. Take for instance the issue about the cost of healthcare. While there are many opposing views about whether the cost should be reduced or not, healthcare remains to be an expensive service to avail. Consequently, it is the people who are suffering with one of their very basic needs. If the politicians aimed to do good for the people, they would, unanimously, reach the conclusion of taking the abnormally high expenses of healthcare into account. By reaching a commonground, they would be able to delineate effective strategies and put them into action.

Moreover, not pursuing elusive ideals is important as well when politicians make their decisions. Extending the previous example of healthcare, it would seem very lucrative for a politician, in terms of their popularity, to advocate a "free-healthcare-for-all" policy. However, such a policy is clearly going to have detrimental effects on the healthcare field. Because this field relies on research, innovation, and the wellbeing of the doctors and nurses, obviously healthcare cannot me made free-of-cost. A politician pursuing such an elusive and delusional policy will only cause turbulence in the political arena, encumbering developments that would otherwise benefit all stakeholders in question, that is, the patients and the healthcare personnel.

Although it can be argued that opposing ideals from politicians help to maintain a balance that eventually elicits the best outcome, in most cases however, the disparity and elusiveness between politicians hinders progress and relegates a society into worse conditions.