Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals

Politics has always been a complex complex, with idealism and realism. Thus, the attitudes towards whether politicians should change their pursuit of ideals or reality vary from person to person. Quite a few people claim that political opinions of politicians should be based on common positions and consensus, which I could not agree more.

First of all, it is universal acknowledged that an explicit goal is the half success. If we have a clear goal, we will know the direction of the fight, with our strong desires , we can try our best to win the battle. For instance, Mao Zedong is a great politician in Chinese history, he has changed the history of China to a great extent. Early 20th century, china was in a middle of the war of resistance Japanese aggression. Mao Zedong was the leader of china ,before the war began, Mao Zedong made an important strategic choice based on the scientific and calm analysis of the anti-fascist war situation: the establishment of an international united front. The proposal of the program provided the theoretical cornerstone and realistic fulcrum for the war of resistance against Japanese aggression, and also clarified the goal of the war. At the beginning of the war, China united the United States, Britain and other anti-fascist countries to unite, greatly enhanced the international anti-fascist power, accelerated the disintegration of the fascist state, and finally won the war. The success of the war of resistance against Japanese aggression showed us the important role of an explicit goal played in a battle.

Secondly, it is very dangerous if politicians make their decisions merely based on the illusory fantasy. By way of illustration, the failure of Churchill’s diplomacy. At the end of the Second World War, the British economy was close to the brink of collapse, but still in the illusion of the "British Empire", want to pursue the former position in Europe. At this time, Conservative Party leader Churchill proposed "three-circle diplomacy", one is the British-centered Commonwealth, the second ring is the English-speaking countries including the Commonwealth and the United States, and the third ring is the whole of Europe. Churchill believes that these three major rings coexist at the same time, there is no power to crash them. However, the role of Britain in the Commonwealth is declining, the contradiction between the United Kingdom and the United States has made the United States not value this relationship, and the United Kingdom after World War II has not received the attention of Europe. Eventually, Churchill’s failure of foreign policy made the British people disillusioned with the status of the British Empire and began to doubt the role of their country as a big country on the world stage. Therefore, ignore the reality, blindly indulge in unfounded fantasy of the future, will eventually suffer failure.

Although, we can not deny the advantages of explicit goals could bring, but we still can not ignore the merits of a fantasy. If there is an illusion about the future deep down inside, you will think about the way how to make it happen , putting it into action, and that’s how a dream come true . For example, Chen Sheng was the leader of the peasant uprising in the late Qin Dynasty. When he was young, even if the idea of the uprising was mocked, it was considered as whimsical, but he did not give up. After that, he grasped the situation and encourage the oppressed labors to join the insurrection army, successfully led the uprising, shaken the rule of the Qin Dynasty, and liberated labors. The goof prospect of the fantasy stimulate people to overcome obstacles, and thus, people could do their best.

Overall, common ground and consensus is a good start of success, but elusive ideals could stimulates people go further. Therefore, political should keep the balance between reality and idealism.