Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As worldwide ever more connected, to bring benefits to the people they served, it’s necessary for politicians to seek common ground and reasonable consensus. The claim has made it seem contradictory to pursuing elusive ideals. However, it’s possible that sometimes common ground and consensus could be based on elusive ideals. In fact, the more elusive the ideals are, the stronger need for seeking common ground and reasonable consensus.

Politicians of the past and present have demonstrated to the world the benefits of operating under common ground and reasonable consensus, ranging from forming various unions, reaching trade deals and collaborating in technology, sciences, etc. From the level of individuals, we know that it’s beneficial to everyone in a group to collaborating on the basis of common ground and reasonable consensus. The same principle can be applied to the politicians of nations. When they are to apply it, there are multiple benefits to their nations and the people who they served. Example of unions could be EU. Nations of EU are relatively safer from invading of outside aggressive military expansion; they are reaping the benefits of using the same agreed upon currency, which makes the economic transaction easier and their economic state more stable; scientists of these nations are involved in programs with better financial support and assistance from each other, play a more significant role in scientific world. No wonder trade deals among nations like TPP are attracting more nations to join them. Only after reaching the common ground and reasonable consensus, a nation can step into the next level in terms of its stand on international arena.Only then the comprehensive potential of the nation can be realized, politicians of the nation can be viewed as taking their responsibility seriously.

Elusive ideals can never be seen as irrelevant to reaching common ground and reasonable consensus;a lots of common ground and reasonable consensus have build on elusive ideals. For example, humanitarian has been one of the elusive ideals that many nations pursue. Humanitarian itself is hard to measure, however, the application of this elusive ideal has often become the common ground and reasonable consensus politicians shared. One of the rules from TPP is forbidding of child labor. The thinking that child labor is inhumane has been shared by most nations, which disprove the claim that politicians should not pursue elusive ideals.

Politicians are selected by people to work for a better future of a nation. Based on the previous argument, we could all agree that politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus. Instead of ignoring elusive ideals, politicians should acknowledge and explore their applications, for common grounds and consensus are built upon them.