Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Scientific discoveries have revolutionized how we view our society and world. For centuries, people have believed that the Earth was the center of the universe or that the Earth was flat, but scientists have proven both theories to be myths. Progress is crucial in our society because it could improve our lives. However, many new improvements in society are controversial, such as GMOs and cloning, and scientists are still exploring the adverse effects of these technologies. Therefore, new changes in society should be studied and revolutionary technologies should be welcomed but treated with caution.

Societies preserve traditions because ancestors have used their experience to infer eternal truths from their lives. Despite the variety of processed foods available, conventional wisdom still reminds consumers that natural, organic foods are optimal for health. Agricultural corporations have created GMOs to create more food and obtain a larger yield, but the adverse effects of GMOs remain a mystery because some effects may not appear for decades or even for centuries. Although GMOs do produce more crops for farmers, they should still be treated with caution because more research is required to fully comprehend their benefits and risks, and using them without fully understanding them could pose a health risk for generations to come.

Cloning is another controversial technology. Although clones could potentially save lives by “growing” new organs for terminally-ill patients, such practices have moral and ethical concerns. Some movies have explored the possibility of growing clones for people and have debated whether the value of the cloned person was inferior to the original person. Technologies like cloning can solve problems in the modern society, but these technologies should be exercised with caution to avoid irreversible mistakes.

Some may argue that rapid progress is crucial, particularly during wartime. The availability of newer, more powerful weapons could determine victory or defeat. However, the repercussions of progress are also essential matters to consider. The United States successfully developed atomic bombs and detonated them in Japan, thereby concluding the Second World War. Nevertheless, the cost of the detonation was destitute radioactive Japanese soil and ill patients suffering from mutations. Innocent women gave birth to deformed babies because these mothers were affected by the radiation during pregnancy. The progression of atomic bomb technology ensured victory for the United States, but it resulted in a catastrophe for innocent people. Scientists might not have invented the atomic bomb if they had fully understood the implications of detonating atomic bombs.

In conclusion, process should not be shunned, but neither should it be the only objective of the society. People should explore every aspect of technological innovations to maximize the effectiveness of technology. GMOs and cloning remain controversial, but that does not signify that they are useless. GMOs could be used to regrow forests, and cloning could be used to bring back extinct species. The key to progress is not to fear it or blindly accept it, but to discern it.