"Questioning authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world".

Questioning is a built-in human nature. As far as one is living, his mind is questioning its surroundings. A human brain normally analyzes every thing except sometimes it takes some things for granted since they are accepted by a large group of other people. In my opinion, a human should question each and every thing including what is normally accepted as common wisdom by a large number of people. But at the same time the questioning should have rules and is not always positive if it doesn’t follow those rules.

If it wasn’t for questioning common wisdom that is taken for granted, we would have been less scientifically developed than we are today. We wouldn’t have the ability to cure a lot of disease and thus we would have lost more lives. In addition, we wouldn’t have had such a prosperous life achieved by modern technologies like transportation and communication. The importance of questioning for our scientific improvement is obvious when mentioning the example of Sir Newton which questioned the fall of an apple off a tree. This questioning resulted in scientific rules and advancements that is part of ninety percent of device we use nowadays.

In old days, there were times where questioning was a banned by the law. And there were human rights heroes who fought for the right to question. One of those heroes is Galellio. The man who proved that the earth is round. He was criminalized and tortured by the authorities. But yet he insisted on his right to question. And years showed he was right.

On the other hand, questioning should have borders and restrictions. You can’t rely on questioning of a human whom is either lacking enough education or life experience. For example, Taha Hussein – A nobel award winner – lost his eye sight at a very young age because his mother – an uneducated woman – insisted on her questioning sense and gave him a wrong eye medication. Another example of harmful questioning is a boy who questioned why adults prevent him from putting his fingers in the electricity socket, he insisted, relied on his questioning and died.

In conclusion, humans will and should always question. But taking actions based on this questioning of common wisdom should rely on how educated and experienced is the questioning put forward. That’s how we can have its positives and reduce its probable negative consequences.