A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt supports the idea of collaboration of Sherwood Hospital with Sherwood Animal Shelter to constitute adopt-a-dog program in order to reduce the heart disease in the general hospital. Although the author provides good reasoning, there are a few logical flaws in the premises of the argument. These assumptions are only to be mentioned followed by necessary clarifications below here.

To begin with - the author believes that the owner of the pets do not have, the author referenced early as the ones who live longer, do have the similar body metabolism of those who are suffering in the Sherwood Hospital. What if the pet owners, the author has referenced very early in his reasoning did not suffer from any heart diseases earlier? And if they have not been exposed to any heart diseases, then how can the effectivity of their pets on their health can deduced? It might the case that the healthy people the author is talking about have long been in great health and consequently do not have to come to hospital. So, it can not be paraphrased with their pet's effiectivity on their health as their might be the same if they are not in possession of any of their pets. If this reasoning is somewhat true then the proposed collaboration might not serve the purpose greatly.

Coming to the second one - the author assumed that the all the owner of the pets and the people in the have plausibly the same lifestyle althrough their lives. But it might not necessarily true. It might be the case that the owner of the pets might have led a better lifestyle; maintaining good diets, excercising daily, taking good naps and being free from any tension and depression etc. On the other hand - the hospital admitted ones might do all the opposites of the earlier owners; leading to a poor health and ultimately they have find their way into the hospital. Saying these - it might be irrelevant to attempt any relation of the dog owenrship into the reasoning as it will have littel impact compaed to the long consequences of the earlier points mentioned. Another impotant question for the author is - how can he be so sure of that the companion of pets or dogs will remedy the heart diseases of the patients? He has not provided any evidences to prove the worth of the dogs in helping to remedy the heart diseases. Yes, he has provided analogous fact of the good health of the pet owners, but has any of them been recovered from their heart diseases; prvoding that they have any. If not then the decision will be worth of second contemplation.

The third conjecture from the author is that - believing that, owing pet dogs might help the hospitalized patients to reduce their heart problems and so will their need for ongoing treatments. The author ignored the importance of medical check-up for a patient here. What if the patient has to be under supervision 24*7 hours? What if the patient has certain type of infection that might increase in the presence of any animals? What is the guarantee that the reduction in heart problems will be considerable enough for the doctors to depend on it completely and abate the medical treatments? The answers of these question have not been properly derived from the prompt. If any of this answer is not consolidate enough then the collaboration of the hospital and the shelter house might be of no use. Apart from that - also what is the guarantee that promoting the adopting program will encourage other people to adopt pets from the shelter? It can be turend out that most of the layperson lead very healthy lives and that is why they might not think about adopting a pet as it will increase theri responsibility to take care of those pets. In those cases -the idea of the author will be grossly wrong.

So, looking at all the factors and points aforemenitioned, it can be safely said that - certain questions have to be answered with proper evidences, also with solid reasoning to come to a certain conclusion as the prompt is devoid of both of these two important elements.