"Reform is seldom brought about by people who are concerned with their own reputation and social standing. Those who are really in earnest about reforming a government, an educational system, or any other institution must be willing to be viewed with disdain by the rest of the world."

The issue topic views that any reform should start from the self rather than seeking it from outside world. The people who try to change the world by reforming in government, educational or institutional process must be viewed by disdain because any change that is started from outside world is not sustainable, even not viable. I personally agree with the line of this issue topics in the sense that one should be the starter of any reform but that should be started from inner self rather than searching in the outside world.

It is the fundamental idea of sustainability that any reform or positive change should be started from an individual who seeks that change. The leader should be an exemplary one, only then the follower have chance to imitate from the leadership. If the top ranking individuals are corrupt, the follower learns the quality rather than virtue. In the developing world where there is widespread poverty and vulnerability, the leaders are corrupt and the law and order situation is weak. In contrast, in the developed nations, there are many things to learn from the leaders by the general people about moral standards, such nations have moved forward in the path of development. The people of the nation are honest, intelligent and diligent.

The next view point in support of above issue is that every individual should be able to act as a change agent so that the mass effect is positive. In the underdeveloped nations, the top ranking officials are corrupt but they try to impose other people the rule of law which ultimately turns to be futile. This is the main cause of low or no development in the third world nations. Consequently, there is widespread corruption, social organizations are weak and enforcement of the law and order situation is weak. In such nations, there is political instability due to lack of confidence upon each other. The people are suffering from rampant poverty; there are protests and demonstrations very frequently, so over all development scenario is bleak.

Without proper self righteousness, it is fruitless to initiate reform in the social organizations like in education, government bureaucracy and other social institutions like development projects, nongovernmental organizations and civil society. The situation gives a sense of envy and jealous among each other. There is lack of the trust with each other; all people are scenic and apprehensive to take right actions. Such a reform attempt is just ostentatious. It is unable to win favor of the general people, which ultimately leads to poor law and order situation in the long run.

Some may argue that in the modern times by means of modern tools and techniques of management, a person can give good organizations irrespective his/her own inner virtue. But I assert that in the long run, the personal image of the person is reflected in the work place and it will be copied by the followers. Thus, it is merely like searching the scent by the deer in the outside world where as it possesses it. It can be affirmed that a reprobate cannot give a good organization to the people; instead he/she impairs the very basis of a good organizations.

In conclusion, social reform or any other positive change should rightly be started from the inner self or from the individual rather than searching the goodness in the others or imposing the same to the others.