Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

One day we open our news app or switch on the television and it is all over the news! A scandal in so and so place by so and so person/people/company with dramatic outcomes having so and so effects. It sure is to catch all our attention and focus it towards the problem at hand, yet, that is all scandals do – get our attention for an infinitesimal amount of time before the next big thing or the next shiniest thing or the next mind-blowing thing captures our attention. I disagree with the statement that scandals are the best way to bring problems to our attention and that other ways to do so are not as effective.

Scandals are indeed useful to get a majority population’s attention in a swift and easy manner, yet their impact is short-lived. Once the major media channels stop talking about the scandal, it along with the problems and damages it has caused, eventually dies out. People are in fact triggered or outraged by the issues that each scandal brings to the table, yet before we can do something to tackle these issues, before we can even begin to outline a sensible game-plan, the media brings to our attention a brand new issue and all but the few sensible ones go behind it like a kitten that follows a laser light mindlessly.

When an issue is brought to light by a speaker or a reformer, it is usually not because he/she wants to take the spotlight for a while, voice out their opinions and move on with their lives like nothing happened at all. In fact, the ones who want to voice out issues are ones most deeply affected by it or strongly believe that a change should be brought about. One such incident happened in India in 2014 just around the time of the general elections. A well-learned man from the capital city of Delhi, Anna Hazare, began to voice out his opinions against corruption and bribery that was very much prevalent in the country even amongst the politicians and dignitaries. He constantly conducted campaigns by bringing together the Indian youth to bring to the country’s attention why corruption is so commonplace and questioned the people’s indifferent attitude towards it. This too like many scandals was at the forefront of every news channel and newspaper. Yet, unlike many other scandals, this didn’t die out. Anna Hazare refused to give up his campaign to end corruption until a significant change was brought about. This went on for many months and when it was time for the general elections, majority of the Indian population finally came to realize that a change in government was needed.

This isn’t to say that scandals are all together pointless and all they do is hold our attention only for a short period. There was the Unilever scandal of 2009 in a South-Indian town called Kodaikanal where the multinational company Unilever had appropriated the land of several of its employees and also released untreated lead into the atmosphere turning a deaf ear to environmental regulations. This was indeed tackled with the help of several media channels and public support. However, for a society to entirely rely on scandals and enticing news pieces to be flashed before their eyes before they wake up to the issues around them would be a loss for humanity.