Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in chich you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your positioning, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue presented here invokes a critical thinking process on whether the scandals are the reliable source that can guide us on the hidden problems exist in a system (like government). A speaker or reformer may though can give a clear a idea about the existing problems in a system but their information is credible unless and until they are not biased by the organizations like political parties which does the scandals. So, I couldn’t agree that a speaker and reformer are credible sources for the system’s problem.

First of all, scandals are useful to expose the hidden agendas or propagandas of an individual or certains organisations in a profession. For example, "Vyapam Ghotala", is one of the biggest scams that happened in India, in the field of medical science. It was revealed that most of the students had no past record of qualifying the National Entrance Exam for Medical Science-a pre-requisite for medical admission, and still secured seats in the reputed colleges. This all happened under the rule of the Health minister who was independently making profits by charging a huge fees of Rs 50-60 lacs from non-qualified students. This example demonstrates the incompetency of the state governement and its chief minister who even didn't know that the scam's mastermind was their government’s health minster. Also, the lack of awareness as well as the incapablility to raise voice on the wrong among people is also reflected since they didn't raise their voice until the scam was exposed by two whistleblowers, even though many people had losses of their family members due to the medical supervison of unqualified doctors.

However, one has to understand that these scandals are not restricted to only government sectors. Bollywood, the film industry of India, though worldwide famous for its star actors/actresses, is also known as the hub of sex scandals. For example, a veteran actor Shakti Kapoor was exposed via a sting operation where he was offering film roles to the female sting agent on the cost of sleeping with the actor. Similar other reports on sex scandals were revealed but the Bollywood was silent on those scandals. Another example is the report of an investigative news agency “cobra post” which conducted a sting operation-the “Operation Karoke”, on various Bollywood stars, asking them whether the stars would do publicity for the “Bhartiya Janta Party” for various state elections? Most of stars agreed to do that on a paid amount of Rupees 1 crore. These examples demonstrates the avarice of the individual stars who will do anything that fulfils their desires. The same goes with the political parties which tries to use Bollywood for their election propaganda since these Bollywood stars are strongly deified by the people of India and hence easily manipulated.

In the conclusion, through the medium of scandals one can understand the flaws in the current system, whether be it a film industry or a government sector or the government itself. These flaws arises due to incompetency of both the people who doesn’t raise their voice on the wrong as well as the greed and corruption among the government or any film industry. A s