Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The consequences of scandals are multifarious in society. According to the prompt, rumors/scandals help ruminate over the problem in-depth that cannot be done by any reformer or speaker. It can be argued that whether a scandal is useful or not is an equivocal comment due to the three reasons.

First of all, in some cases, scandals can have a deleterious effect on some people if they are sensitive to criticism. As a result, instead of focusing on problems, they can be demotivated and create further new problems. For instance, a group of researchers has been blamed in a scandal for creating a new virus that killed millions of people worldwide. Although this accusation might be false, due to intense pressure from society, one of the researchers took a drastic step by committing suicide. Thus, it is plausible to say that people with a lack of mental strength are susceptible to adverse effects that are caused by the scandals.

However, scandals provide a point of view of many people; help in getting into the depth of the problem from different perspectives. For example, a political party that is in power might be alleged of a scandal by another political party. The rumors will involve in a discussion by the people, which will give the opinions from both the sides either supporting it or against it. These debates might help in revealing additional information related to the scandal and help further in the investigation of the scandal.

Furthermore, in some instances, scandals at large scale can create chaos and violent outbreaks. For instance, a charge against the ruling political party of a country that they rigged the elections can lead to upheavals in society. The party supporters might trigger this turmoil and might accuse the opposition party workers of spreading such rumors. Thus, when the scandals are on politically delicate issues, there are high chances of chaos, which might disrupt the order of the community.

In conclusion, it can be summed up by saying that the prompt might only be partially correct. Without refuting to the views that scandals can help in understanding the problems at hand in more detail, it cannot be accepted as a general truth. While the prompt may be right in most of the cases, there are exceptions where scandals could create more problems for some people than focussing on the current problems.