Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some people may argue that there is not such thing as negative attention. In fact, outrageous headlines are frequently seen plastered across television screens, newspapers, and magazines. The scandals marketed by these provocative apothegms function as an innocent source of superficial entertainment and causal discussion. However, scandals are not equipped to solve important problems for two vital reasons.

Firstly, scandals rapidly draw attention to specific topics; however, they do not produce the strategic discussions needed to cultivate meaningful changes. Attention does not equal constructive action. Secondly, problems must be addressed pragmatically and phlegmatically in order to attract an audience that is capable of implementing innovative solutions. Scandals, on the other hand, simply solicit vexation and defensiveness, thus making it very difficult to hold a fair-minded dialogue. Politics are an excellent example of this distinction. Effective politicians are individuals with candor that are capable of exercising respect and diligence. Feckless politicians are those that devote more time and energy to sparking arguments rather than creating helpful resolutions. Thus, scandals should not be seen as a resource for developing long-term answers to serious problems. Furthermore, the medical field represents the epitome of efficient collaboration. Doctors, nurses, and other healthcare providers do not arrange scandals when they are challenged to solve life-threatening problems. Instead, these medical professionals communicate openly and clearly with one another. The ability of healthcare workers to remain calm and composed allows them to save lives and combat disease. Thus, objective discussions must be utilized to solve issues that extend beyond the healthcare industry, not scandals.

In conclusion, scandals are not an effective problem-solving strategy. Firstly, scandals generate attention not action. Thus, the arousal and controversy surrounding scandals do not translate into impactful solutions. Secondly, scandals cause people to automatically become incensed and partial. A prejudice disposition inhibits objective discussions, which are required to cooperate and communicate with others. Overall, scandals should be reserved for the media. Facetious tag-lines manipulated to trigger an emotional reaction from people should not be used to solve staid problems.