Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems. Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

(Although the word 'problems' doesn't truly encompass the multitude of issues plaguing modern society, it is liberally used in this essay to ensure brevity)

Throughout our existence on this planet, we, as a society, have been plagued with problems. Oftentimes we have navigated these problems by using our intellect to come up with innovative solutions. Science and technology as seen today are a result of decades of such innovations. Given their success in resolving our problems in the past, it is natural to assume that they would continue to do so in the future.

It is often said that the only constant in life is change. Change, no matter how small or large, brings forth a new set of problems in addition to those already evident in society. Perhaps this is why it is often viewed with dread. However, a quick glance into our past reveals that Change has been the reason behind some of our greatest discoveries and innovations. When the survival of prehistoric men was threatened by predators, they discovered fire - mankind's first major discovery. Our ancestors' constant struggle with diseases and infections, motivated them to develop medicine, something which is commonplace in today's society. Our desire to be connected is what led to the development of ideas such as the telephone, the internet and more recently, social media. In other words, major scientific and technological advances can be viewed as man's answer to the problems facing him, which in turn are a consequence of change, something fundamental to life itself. Therefore it is safe to assume that this cycle of change, problems and innovations will continue. Moreover, given our successes so far in navigating this cycle, there is no reason to believe that this success wouldn't continue.

Additionally, it is important to consider how navigating this cycle has helped us develop our intellect and understanding of the world. Going back to the discovery of fire, while its most obvious purpose was to drive away wild beasts, it did play a more nuanced role in our development. The discovery of fire, freed us from worrying about survival which allowed us to focus our attention elsewhere. Indeed, without fire, it is difficult to say if any of the subsequent innovations such as the wheel, writing or agriculture would ever have come to be. This effect is compounded further with every subsequent innovation. Without agriculture, we wouldn't have been able to settle down into communities. Without communitites, division of labour wouldn't have been possible which would have deprived us of thinkers, artisans and poets. Without the presence of these individuals, society would have come to a standstill; stuck in an everlasting cycle of survive, scavenge, eat. This division of labour allowed individuals to wonder about more abstract concepts, something which eventually led to the development of fields such as mathematics, physics, chemistry and biology. From here onwards, our intellectual growth became exponential as we went from barely understanding our world in the 18th century, to disecting atoms by the end of the 20th. Thus, it is necessary to acknowledge that intellect and knowledge, as observed today, are a result of compounding several millenia of innovations, which have shaped our society into its current form.

Therefore, change is what forces man to think of innovative ways to solve his problems, and every one of these innovations builds on the existing knowledge base of previous ideas. Hence it is safe to assume that one day, man would find the answers to the problems plaguing society.

However, it is important to realise that all the problems mentioned so far have been because of external factors. Indeed, these aren't the only problems evident in modern society. An exclusive set of problems exist in our society, ones that are of man's own creation. These include issues such as racism, sexism, trafficking, slavery and terrorism, to name a few. Such problems are motivated by emotions and beliefs and no amount of science and technology can resolve them. For science and technology are man's own creation, and when man himself is incapable of controlling his emotions, it would be absurd to think something that he created can.

Going back to the beginning of this essay, there are two things which are a constant in life. One is change and the other is mankind's ability to navigate this change successfully. This insight guarantees that no matter the magnitude of problems facing us, as long as they aren't a result of our own beliefs, we will find a way to eventually overcome them.