Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Science and technology have given humanity truly wondrous discoveries and advances. Over the past hundred years, the standard of living for many has risen tremendously, and that is due to advances in electronics, communications, and medicine, among many other fields. And yet, these achievements only benefit a fraction of the people alive today. There is enormous inequality, so there are many people who have not benefited from science. The question is, then, whether science and technology will one day be able to give everyone an equally high standard of living. Furthermore, it’s unclear whether more advances make people any happier. Because science and technology cannot address inequality or address individual people’s happiness, they will never solve all of society’s problems.

For one person to enjoy excess, another person must lose something. For example, Americans enjoy many conveniences, such as year-round access to produce. Advances in food science and transportation make it easier to grow more food more quickly, and to ship it to more places. And yet, people are still needed to make the grow and transport the food. Fundamentally, individuals’ labor is exploited, and even entire societies are forced to work to work on farms or orchards without ever getting the chance to live a different life. The point is that no matter how good food science or shipping technology becomes, there will always be people who get to eat bananas and mangoes year-round in a cold climate and people who must grow, pick, and ship the food. Science and technology might make food tastier and more resistant to pests, but they can’t make us distribute resources evenly or not exploit labor. That is why science and technology will never be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Another case where science and technology can’t solve society’s problems has to do with people’s happiness. Yes, there are many medicines and therapies available to help people be happier and handle stress better, but people are still unhappy, even in wealthy countries. Science and technology might bring better medicine or better luxuries, but they don’t necessarily address fundamental questions about how to live a happy life. Based on advances in technology in the 21st century, we can see that even though people are more connected than ever because of smartphones and the internet, they are also more lonely and depressed. As a society, we rush to perfect computer and medical technology, but don’t necessarily pay attention to what would make our society the happiest. It might be that a simpler life would lead to more happiness, but this would require collective action on our part to make such a life. Without an effort like this, society’s overall happiness will never improve, which is why it is such an important counter example to the idea that science and technology will address all of society’s problems.

As we can see, science and technology are wonderful, and have given us better food, medicines, and communications technologies. And yet, these advances aren’t available to everyone and require the exploitation of human labor to make them possible in the first place. Furthermore, new technology doesn’t necessarily lead to happier people. There is no reason to assume that any future science or technology will have a different effect. We’ll learn more about the world and make better technology, but this won’t address inequality or happiness. Therefore, science and technology are simply not able to address all of society’s problems.