Scientists and other researchers should focus their on areas that likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The author claims that scientists must focus on the research that might provide the biggest public benefits. However, while pragmatism is prevalent these days, there are circumstances that the author may not have considered.

Generally speaking, the author’s position is plausible. With the invention of the computer, we can buy food without walking around the shopping center, with medicine, we can treat many diseases. such inventions are recognized and praised great inventions such as refrigerators and air-conditioners that made our life better.

However, the author’s assertion may not always be true. This is because the pragmatic view in scientific research might have some critical issues. First, it is hard to evaluate the amount of benefits. There are various values such as economical, aesthetic, and moral values that the researcher might seek to achieve and sometimes they conflict. For example, a plastic bag is cheap and useful to many people, but it also pollutes the environment. Since the plastic bag has economical values but also damages moral values, It is difficult to objectively judge the benefit of the plastic bag. As such the values can’t be calculated like a mathematic equation, the amount of benefits might have been difficult to evaluated.

Secondly, it is hard to predict its benefits. For example, Mendel who is the biologist examined genetics but in his life time, his research was not given much spotlight. However, after his death, he was recognized as the father of modern genetics. Likewise, Charles Darwin was criticized by religious groups who believed God made the world and humans in his life time. However, the evolutionary theory has become the main paradigm these days. As such, at the beginning of the research, it is not that easy to predict its influence on the following researches. The impact of research has uncertainty so it is hard to know the exact amount of benefits.

In conclusion, the author’s claim might seem beneficial under general conditions, regarding the counterpoints, that are difficulties of predicting and evaluating the actual advantage of research, the author’s claim cannot be fully agreed with.