Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

An arguement that has taken place between many people in different eras is whether the knowledge is something that is sought for itself or is just a way followed to satisfy the human needs. one side of this discussion will support the idea that the knowledge is needed for itself, taken as an evidence that whatever is accomplished by scientists or researchers will directly or indirectly benefit someone, even if this one is the researcher himself finding his pleasure doing research. In contrast, the other side of the discussion would argue that the general purpose of the science and research done by a humanbeing is to benefit the humankind, and there is no value of their work if it just goes without anyone grasping a benefit from it.

A reasonable person might see that the science is an accomplishment that is achieved only by humans because of their uniquness and singularity between all other kind of creatures, and that is something we are blessed with and have to use to appreciate that blessing, and given that, scientists and researchers are to make efforts to do their job regardless how benefeciary this is for people. However, we can argue that seeing there is some fields of science that has to be supported with more research to benefit few numbe of people that really need that. For example, there are rare diseases that kill people every year, if we are only to put the science and research to help the greatest number of people, such diseases will never be cured.

Furthermore, the vast number of different fields of science and research make it a must that some researches must be done in areas that benefit few number of people. we can see that people get obsessed with many diffrent things, also, the obsession of the scientists or researches might also be very different and we can't oblige them to make efforts in fields they are not interested in.

Finally, this discourse will probably never die and people will not come to a specific opinion.However, the thinking that science and research has to be done only in the fields that benefit the greatest number of people might seem somehow partisan and not giving freedom for scientists and researchers to do whatever they like.