Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Currently, it is debatable whether the scientists or any other researchers should concentrate their research on areas that reaps a myriad of benefits to the greatest number of people. Some people hold a view that yielding merits to the a plethora of people should be a priority for the scientific and other types of research since these research requires a large amount of funds from government and outside sources. Although this argument has some meritorious points, I believe that any researchers should focus on any areas since it is uncertain how the research result will influence our life.

Admittedly, there are some scientific research, which took a toll on our societies and people. Take the Manhattan Project for example. When this research first started, people were not aware how the research result would adversely impact our society, and solely thought their goal of defensing against the Germany’s building on atomic weapons. However, at the end of the war, the U.S. attacked two cities in Japan with these atomic bombs and many lives of Japanese people were sacrificed. If the purpose of the research was for the benefits of the people, Japanese people and its society do not need to suffered from the severe side-effect of the radioactivity and people do not need to suffer from the fear of atomic bombing. As we can see from this compelling example, in some cases, limited research areas for aiming the benefits of the greatest number of people are necessary.

However, if the aim of research is helping people, any research should be conducted. For example, stem cell research is a controversial issue in this day and age. Some people argue that the stem cell research should be prohibited since it uses human embryo and infringe upon the basic right to live. However, although the result of this research is unclear and it is unpredictable whether many people will reap benefits from the research, it should be continued since it has a possibility to open many doors for developing medicines and cures for people who contract severe illness. In such a case, research on any field of study should be allowed since it will help people’s quality of life.

Also, if any researchers should concentrate on a limited research field, it can result in negative effects on the society. Each researcher has his or her field of interest and by studying on the particular field, they will earn a great achievement. However, if researchers are forced to study other areas, their productivity will not be maximized, and hardly yield positive results from the research. Therefore, for them to researching on their field of interest will be the best way to help the greatest number of people.

In conclusion, the recommendation that only fields that help the greatest number of people should be focused is far-fetched, and they should make incessant efforts to engender the great achievements for people and their society.