Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The issue states that employee compensation should be decided solely on the basis of work performance and merit and not on the basis of seniority. I find this statement extreme and would not stand by it completely; whereas I am also not in the favor of promotions solely on the basis of seniority. I think there should be a middle ground between where both these factors should be accounted to decide compensation and not just one of the two.

To begin with, let us explore the case in which seniority is the only basis of promotion and raises. If such would be the case, no doubt the incentive amongst the employees to work hard and be the best face of themselves would be snatched away from them. A feeling that however poor they perform they would be compensated the same would get instilled which would hold them back from performing their best. Government firms in India are the classic example of it wherein seniority is the only criteria for promotion. Employees there are known for their dilidary attitude, languishing their work due to which these company as a whole do not progress dynamically in comparision to their private sector counterparts even though they are have poorer funding initially but their employment compensation is on the basis of performance and merit. Therefore, seniority as the only criteria to decide compensation can be dangerous.

On the other side, if we goive promotions and raises solely on the basis of work performance and merit, it does not turn out to be just for the employeees. We must consider the biological factor that with age, the productivity of humans start sapping. Their mental and physical faculties wane with time. That doesnot mean they should not be raised in the period of the time when they need the company the most. This would create frustration and dissent in the senior citizen section of the society and is not morally upright. In order to secure their old age, there should be some factor that accounts for their seniority in the company and pays them well in return of the years of loyal service they have offered tio the company even if their current performance level is not in par with theie younger colleagues.

In sum, analysing both these cases with deep scrutiny, I would suggest that compensations for the employees should be established taking both the factor, seniority as well as performance, in account. There must be a positive correlation of compensation with both these factors. The extent of correlation may vary from firm to firm.