"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

Internet advertising company, in order to appeal to businesses, has put forth an argument which says their internet services can increase their profitability. In doing so, they have used the 10% increase in sales of their prior customers Furniture Depot as evidence. I do not find this argument well reasoned. Deeper analysis of it reveals major flaws in the line of reasoning and the evidence used. Let us consider each of the flaws categorically.

First, the internet advertising company uses the increase in 10% sales over last year as a premise of their company's positive contribution in growing business. Before reaching that conclusion, we must have at least 10 years data showing the history and trend of their sales. It is quite possible that this year the increase in sale might not be as much as in the previous years. In that case, internet service company cannot boast themselves for increasing their sales. Therefore, the author must produce a comprehensive and extensive record of sales over at least ten years, to measure the relative success of the company in the last year.

Secondly, there could have been myriads of other factors that could have resulted in the increase of their sales. For example, it is quite possible that in that year they might have enhanced the quality or design of their furniture. The furniture company might have shifted their location to a more accessible place in the town or they might have improved their delivery services or expanded or changed their product range. All of these could be plausible reasons for the increase in sales of the company. Taking these factors to be constant over the last year are questionable assumptions and weaken the argument's conclusion of attributing the increase in sale to internet advertising company.

To make the conclusion more credible, I would suggest the author to produce a survey that reveals what percentage of their customers and sales were actually inspired from the internet advertising company. A well inclusive survey which accounts all the plausible factors that could have resulted in better sales and give customers exhaustive options in fair way if says so, would bolster the argument that the internet company helped increase sales.

In sum, I would ask author to address the above mentioned things in his argument to make it more logical and to help us better evaluate the conclusion.