Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

Democracy is the government by the people, of the people and for the people. The very essence of today's politics is governed by the factor that we find common ground and reach reasonable consensus. Anything other than that may lead to fascism in which one ideology is superimposed on the people who may not believe in it, it would be no better than monarchy. Pursuit of an ideal is an abstract idea that may mislead to dogmatism and political sanctimoniousness. It is precisely how tyrants were born in the history and fascism spreads.

Firstly, it is important to realise that an ideal thing is subjective and the definition of idealism varies from person to person. For example, in my childhood days when going to school was mandatory, for me the ideal was to have the freedom to choose if one wants to go to school or not. With my parochial and naive understanding, I couldnot think of the benifits of having education. Therefore, my ideal was shaped with my limited understanding. Similarly, every individual has his or her own set of ideals which is governed by what his life time experiences and circumstances. Ideal for one, cannot be an ideal for all unanimously. These conflicting ideals can not be reconciled inorder to have a smooth and peaceful governance based on the pursuit of ideal. Hence, the goal of politics to be the pursuit of an ideal is quixotic and lacks pragmatism.

Secondly, if we pursue an ideal as the goal of politics, there would always be marginalisation of a section of people with conflicting ideology. These minorities would feel suffocated bt the hegemony of a single ideal being pursued. For instance, the BJP government in India has a ideology of 'Hindutva' which sidelines people of other religions and beliefs. Since the BJP government has come to power there has been numerous cases of communal tension in the country. This growing insecurity amongst the minority sections of the nation takes away peace and tranquility and a sense of security amongst the citizens. Similarly, we can see the same pattern throughout the course of history like Nazi rule, Sharia laws in the middle eastern countries etc. Pursuit of an ideal always leads to oppression of the minorities and therefore, an tumultous government. Thus, the goal should be a democratic way of finding common ground and reaching reasonable consesus.

However, there are also cases when a democratic way of finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus have proved to be failure. There are drawbacks attached to this side as well. The legal procedures have to go through a long discussions and in order to get the majority on one point is very difficult game. To understand better, let us look at India, the biggerst democracy of the world. GST bill which is recently passed was tabled in 1999. It took 17 years to take that step which could be very quick in a political system rum by ideals. Moreover, there are quite significant chance of the politics that finds common ground and is run by consensus to go wrong. Afterall, majority is not always right.

In conclusion, although a political system that aims at finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus may not be the best thing ubiquitously for it is slower in action and may lead to precarious decisions sometimes, but it is definitely much better than a political system in pursuit of an ideal which can lead to dogmatism, fascism or worse, a tyrannous rule.