Should the entire nation have a single uniform curriculum before (university)college? Express your views, arguments based on the consequences if there were/were not to be a single curriculum .

I strongly agree with the idea of having a uniform national curriculum for students until they enter college. I would like to validate my stance by stating the following-

First, having a uniform national curriculum means that the students are exposed to similar standards of rigour and course content throughout the country. This helps in producing a homogeneous cohort of students, who are more or less at the same level when it comes to the breadth and depth in their knowledge.An advantage of this is that the students would start off on a level playing field when they enter college, something that would not have been possible in the absence of a non-standard curriculum.

Secondly, this uniformity would help to do away with the much maligned standardised tests that students have to take in order to get admitted to colleges.There have been cases of bright students not being able to make the cut in these tests, simply because they were ill at ease with the timed problem-solving setup.Since these tests are barely indicative of the actual capabilities and the potential of the student and merely represent how well he/she has done on the day of the test, it only seems prudent to move towards a uniform national curriculum.

Third, maintaining a uniform curriculum would be particularly beneficial for the economically backward sections of the society. It is because they would not have to spend a lot on buying standard reference books that are often costly, as the same purpose would be served by those in a uniform national curriculum. This would help in cutting down on the drop-out rates in the under-privileged sections of the society.