Should there be an unified national curriculum throughout the country for schools? What do you think? state your claim and support with suitable examples.

Should there be an unified national curriculum throughout the country for schools? What do you think? state your claim and support with suitable examples. Well I'll have to agree with the author's idea of unifying national curriculum throughout the country. This helps in judging students on the same scale of knowledge. Having different curriculum for different state is like judging a book by its cover. Each curriculum would have it own syllabus and methodology. Although different part of the country has its own individuality and history due to globalisation and easy of travelling and fierce competition. It is necessary to have single curriculum for the entire nation.

Currently every state has different syllabus for its students. This makes it complicated for colleges and institutes to select students from different part of the country as they have studied from varied syllabus. For example if one state has set its education standard low it would be easy for the students residing in that state to score in exam. While a neighbouring state which has a higher standard for education will have a tough examination. so, the students of that state will score less compared the former state. When the students marks are valued later for higher studies it is evident that the university or college is going to prefer the student who has scored more neglecting the fact that the student has little knowledge of the subject because the low standard of education. The problem doesn't end there when the student from the former enters the latter state university he'll shave a tough time because he was not taught to that scale of difficulty. So, unifying a proper curriculum saves these minor trouble which is huge difficulty as a matter of fact.

Having a single curriculum throughout the nation can also save the nation a lot of money. When each state has its own board to set and regulate syllabus it is bound to consume more money for maintaining an educational board in each state. Rather then that when there is a single curriculum there will be one board which directs the educational system. This saves a lot of money the nation.

So although it would be difficult to prepare a single curriculum for the nation it is better to have it as it benefits on the long run. Initially it maybe difficult to accept but it will prosper in the later years.