Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Extiction of different species of animals is a major threat in present world. Many are already extinct and many are in verge of extinction. Nothing can be done to regenerate the animals that are no longer available in Earth but some activities and laws can dodge the debacle for the endangered animals. The prompt discusses that the efforts to protect these rare wildlife be focussed to those whose number are reducing due to human activites. I mostly disagree with the prompt and provide two reasons to warrant that other factors are more important for the decline in number of the animals. However, I concede a few cases where attention on human activites resulted decrease can produce better outcome.

First of all, nature is an incomprehensible, difficult to interpret and has its own pattern of activity. Noone can avoid a natural disaster but we definately can work to reduce frequency and outcome of bad natural phenomena. One major cause of reduction in number of many animals is spread of malignant disease causing death of the species. There are many news of hundreds of animals found death in a certain location naturally. If we neglect these factors it gets spread and threatens the existence of animal. People can work for development of vaccine and provide it to the animal before it gets sick. Also, vaccination of infected wildlife can avoid spread of the disease and help to cicumvent the potential extinction.

Secondly, another major cause for complete destruction of species is due to natural fire in large forest. These conflarations damage the habitat of many plants and animals. Large number of plants which can only be found in a certain location are totally burned and also animals found in only the particular area are fully removed. These natural fire are not human activities but a crucial factor for wane of many species and an eye must be kept for reduction in the damage as well as frequency of the fire.

Despite all other factors, human beings are also one of the major deterrant of large number of species. Many trees are cut down for area of settelment and for fire purposes. Large number of animals are killed for their valuable organs used in medical fields as well as decoration. Poaching is one of the major cause to decrease the quantity of many animals. Steps to protect the endangered species due to human activites is a direct approach and a fruitful task to protect the wildlife in a small time duration. For example, the number of Bengal Tiger in Nepal was 56 in 2005. When the government declared the protection of these tigers and enforced strict rules for killing of them and also allocated Khaptad National Park for preserving them, their number increased gradually and by 2018 the number of Bengal Tigers in Nepal were around 1200. These process that dissuade humans activity that threatens wildlife is fuitful and the positive outcome can be felt in near future.

Thus, in conclusion, efforts must be made for protection of the plants and animals that are in verge of extinction becasue their presence is a boon to humans in a direct or indirect way. But the steps must not only be directed to human activites but other factors in play that have greater influence must be considered.