The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee extrapolates that Calatrava will have sufficient budget focused for adults in the next decade. They arrived to this conclusion based on the decline in birth rate and several other factors. The author’s proclamation might be true, but there are some loopholes associated with it. So, inorder to determine the credibility of the argument following three points must be substantiated.

First of all, the author assumes that last year birth rate is an indication of the birth rate of coming years. It is possible that last year was an anomaly and there might always have been increase in birth rate execpt the previous year. So, there is more chances that there will be more births in the coming years. Also, the birth rate declined in the city last year due to bad hospital and medical institutions and people prefer to go hospitals of nearby cities where the health facilities are far better. If these are the real cases, then the cogency of the argument is notably hampered.

Secondly, the author assumes that the decrease in birth rate also decreases the students in public school and also people in athletics and recreational facilities. Perhaps there are more immigrants from other cities of the state as well as from other states to the city that might increase the number of students in the local schools. Further, the rate of students who participate in athletics and sports programme as well as enjoy recreational and physical activites programmes might increase drastically so that even there are less total students there might be more number of members in such sectors. The conclusion of the argument does not hold water, if any of these claims are true.

Finally, the author assumes that adult population increases in the town. It might be possible that adult population also decrease commensurately with the decline of birth rate. Moreover, the adults of the city might go to another are for better employment, higher education and also for better lifestle. If this scenario is feasible, then the authenticity of the argument is considerably hindered.

Thus, conclusively, it can be said that the argument has premise that is incomplete and its assumptions are unwarranted and baseless; hence, the conclusion is dubitable. If the author is able to provide evidence to these three explanations in a persuasive nature, then the viability of the argument can be fully evaluated.