Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Human activities such as construction, farming activities, building plant, etc. had destroyed the habitat of many plant and animal species. If endangered species become extinct as a result of human activities, then only it becomes the responsibility of society to save them. Personally, I completely disagree with this suggestion and argue that society should strive to protect endangered species for three reasons.

Firstly, whatever should be the cause of extinction; endangered species must be conserved because they play vital role in food web. For instance: if the population of deer is decreasing due to effect of human activities or any other factor, it must be conserved; otherwise, it hampers the population of lion who depends upon deer for their saviour. This leads towards disturbance the chain of food web and ultimately ecosystem.

Secondly, many people depend directly or indirectly upon the species for their livelihood. For instance: yarshagumbha- also known as the caterpillar fungus- is found in the Himalayan region of Nepal, India, Tibet, Bhutan, etc. People of Himalayan region hinge on yarshagumba for their earning and living. They harvest yarshagumba for months, sold them and spent the remaining months from the income earned from the selling. Yarshagumba is only the source of income for people of region. They must utilize the species sustainably. Otherwise, species will become disappear and will become difficult for people who entirely depend upon such species for survivor.

Once the endangered species are gone, they are gone forever; there will be no coming back. And our future generation won’t get opportunity to get benefits from them and read about them only on books. For instance: dianosours were extinct millions of years ago, we can read about their body structure and activities performed by them only on books. If our ancestors had preserved them, then we get opportunity to observe them in present time.

In the end, people might argue that if the cause of extinction of endangered species isn’t because of human activities, why should they be responsible to protect them? Whatever might be the causes of disappearance of such species; their effect will always be upon human. So it is prudent to protect the endangered species.