Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

The world has now over than billions of species, most of which we do not even know the names of. This huge variations are important as each one resides in an ecosystem with an integral part in it. The loss of any species will cause its relevant ecosystem to lose balance which might have a domino effect over other ecosystems too. Most of the species are a result of the environments they live in. Like in Australia, Kangaroos are found which cannot be found in any other part of the world. Pandas live in China, Royal Bengal Tigers in south east Asia. Such diversity is a result of different environments in different parts of the world. Like China is a major producer of bamboo which is the primary food for pandas. If any change is brought upon those environment, it will have a direct effect on the species that rely on the environment.

In an ideal world, all of these species would have lived side by side in harmony. But this is not the case. Some of the species are on the verge of extinction nowadays. If we look into it, we can list down primarily two reasons behind this. Human intervention and climatic change. Humans for their own personal agenda are destroying forests, polluting the environment to an extent that other species are finding it hard to live. For example, constant deforestation of the Sundarbans for the installation of a nuclear plant is forcing its habitant, the royal bengal tigers to leave the forest and enter into the surrouding villages for loss of habitat. This is leading to a clash of survival between villagers and tigers, ultimately humans use weapons to kill those tigers. Eventually the numbers of tigers have dropped over 50% in the last decade. Climate change is also having severe effects on biodiversity. The sea level is rising and the sea water is becoming extremely salty which makes it impossible for most of the fishes to survive. The extreme hot weather is melting the ice which is causing the extinction of the species who live in such area.

If the endangered species become extinct, it will make so many ecosystems to lose balance overall and have a severe effect on the environment and us too. Society should make efforts not only to save those species who are endangered due to our activities but those too who are struggling to survive in this changing world. All species have a role in the environment, and their survival is important to ensure diversity in future too. If we limit our activities in a way that it does not harm the survival of other species, it won't have much effect. For example, climate change might not seem like a cause by human activities but it is in the long run. The daily activities of humans are making harmful effect on climate which is sequentially causing mane species to become extinct. We cannot draw a boundary between human causes and other causes as both are interlinked.

Society should make sustainable plans to limit activities that are harmful for the survival of other species and preserve the biodiversity by taking extra measures. If we can save the endangered species from becoming extinct, we can save ourselves by giving us the chance to live in a more balanced environment.