Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

In the life of a student choosing a field of study is the cardinal part. choosing a field based on the availability of jobs may look attractive because of the stability it provides but lacking the required enthusiasm may harm you mentally in the long run .If you choose your field based on your talent and interests it may help you get a job from the limited availability and you can also create job opportunities for others in your field of study.

Let's look at an instance where choosing a field of study based on your interests and talent not only helps you but also others in the same field. If we look at Bill Gates or Steve Jobs who selected there field of study based on their interest when the jobs are limited at the time, because of their interest they have created a revolutionary product which has created a big industry and huge amount of jobs for others to pursue their studies in the field

However, choosing a field of study based on interests may fire back because every time you can't create a jobs in that field by creating a new products or research . It might be possible you have huge amount of capital needed to do research or develop new technology in a field .For example marine biologists where number of available jobs is limited because of many reasons and also you need to be on the top of your field to land a job. In such cases choosing a job based on the availability of jobs is the best thing .

In conclusion choosing a field considering your talents and interests may open a lot of opportunities not only for you but also others .Now a days there are very fields where job opportunities are limited and most of the students are looking for a field with more availability of jobs than trusting their own talent