Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organised sports.

The statement presents two conflicting ideas about the young athletes. Some people believe that that the competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that the competition discourages them. I personally believe that one can only give his best if there is competition, although competition sometimes puts mental pressure on athletes and unnerve them.

The competition provides a cause to perform best in any field. If there had not been any competition among people then there would not have been a feeling which would have drove them to do best. Imagine a sport, where, there is only few athlete and the one is the strongest of all then the athlete who is the best will have no fear to lose. He will always win and become overconfident. To be successful in sports an athlete needs to work hard always. He need to be fit physically and mentally. If everyone is equally talented in a sport then the competition to win that sport will drive athlete to perform best.

I had always been fond of basketball since my childhood. Earlier in the school time I was not taking this game seriously because I had to perform in inter-school competition and I our school had the strongest team of basketball players. At that time I never had any pressure that I will not win the game. But, when i came to college, we had to play with the one of the best teams in that state. During that time we used to practice a lot, exercise and make strategies. This things we did because we had to win that competition. So, it is very important to have competition which gives feelings to do something and to achieve that is not easily possible.

I would not say completely that a competition does not discourage athletes, but it depends on the athlete in what way they are taking that competition. In a game, everyone knows that one has to win and other has tools. What is more important that we learn from every game and improve ourselves so that we can do better in our next game. If we get discouraged and do nothing to win the game then who will be the loser? Obviously, the answer is clear, the one who sits afraid of the completion will be the loser. In red to win, the athletes have to overcome this sort of problems.

In summary, I certainly believe that the competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, but it also discourages them cannot be neglected. The only thing that one need to keep in mind that discouragement is nothing but a mental pressure to win a match, which should be overcome to actually win or give competition to the opposite team.