Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Is competition for high grades good or bad for students? Today, we see competition everywhere and everyone is competing in one way or other. For instance, we compete for high grades with collegemates, we compete for better work performance with coworkers, and we compete on who touches the finish line first in sports. At some respects, competition can be a good thing and when taken seriously or when taken to another level, competition can lead to destruction. Although some people might argue that competition is a vital part in aiming for high grades in classroom, I believe that competition has more cons than pros.

First of all, competition is inherent in human nature. We all are competing in our daily lives. Therefore, students already have the competitive nature in them. If we try to teach them to be more competitive this will only lead to troubles in school and in their adult lives. For instance, let us take Tiger Woods as an example. He is a well-known golf player and he took the sport of golf to another level. But due to his high overreaching sense, his personal life was destroyed. His dad pushed him from the very early age to be the ultimate competitor. Thus, I believe in classroom, when learning is the main priority, over competition can damage the learning curve. Learning has to be done in a nurturing and peaceful environment. Although competition is good for exams and getting high grades, when we take competition too seriously, students would not study or learn but they would do anything they can to get higher grades than their classmates. Now, winning becomes their priority rather than learning. This is why we witness cheating in exams within students. Later, when they have to apply the knowledge they have learned here in college, they will have trouble because they did not actually learn anything. This is why I believe only a certain level of competition should exist in school.

Next, high competition will also lead to a non-friendly environment in school. With competition, students might be passing with flying colors but they might have social problems. When we are competing with each other, we tend to think how to be better than them. For instance, when we know and understand something in class, we would not teach our friends whom do not understand because we want to get higher grades than them. We want to be first. This is not a good environment for learning. This could be destructive to students and it will not make students be a good-natured human. Students should not only help each other but they should help their friends too. When we teach students a sense of coorperation between them, they will be a useful human being to the world in future despite getting good grades. In NASA, if people are competing with each other constantly, our entire space program would be jeapordized. People should be willing to help each other.

Lastly, the most destructive economic collapse was caused by leaders in American banks and financial institutions that were obssesd in competing for the mighty dollar. We can see a lot of examples in which over competitiveness leads into trouble. This is why, from an early age, we should teach our children to learn and not to be just competitive in getting high grades.