Some people believe that coraporations have a responsiblity to promote well being of the societies and environment in which they operate.Others believe that the only responsiblity,provided they operate within the law,is to make as much money as possible.

It is not uncommon for people to support the belief that corporations hold a responsibility to promote well-being of the societies and environment .With the growing global warming ;oil spills on the sea at gulfs;increased electronic wastes ;excessive noise pollution ;and the growth of stress in the employees , this belief has become even more prevalent.Yet within the very statement there lies a contradiction , corporations are designed in such a way that they emerge out as profit-making organisations .They are the organisations which contributes most towards the growth of the economy of any country.Corporate owners are aware of the fact that if they continue being concerned about the environment and the society they wouldn't be able to earn much. .The government have to exercise its control on these corporations to prevent them from harming the environment and the society.

Recently a major step is being taken by the government in many countries that can deeply undermine the position of tobacco based corporations.As per the new law the tobacco corporations have to show pictures depicting the harm that their products can do to people consuming them.While this step can help cut short the number of tobacco consumers but this will come at the cost of the loss in the sales of tobacco industries.

In past few years government have started to keep a check on the industries and the corporations releasing a huge amount of noxious pollutants that are harmful to the environment. Some of the corporations whose activities are harming the environment as well as animals, are ordered by the government to set up their industries in the remote areas.Though ,these orders are disturbing the ways the industries function, yet it still makes the industries reluctant to follow these instructions.

Corporations are instructed to keep up the happiness index of their employees ,since happy people makes up a happy society.Corporations are thus working on to reduce the work load on its employees and removing undue pressure being exercised on its employees before.

Thus, by proper following of rules and regulations the corporations can manage to make real profit while causing minimal harm to environment as well as society.The corporations should understand that, protecting environment as well as working for the well-being of the society is equally important as earning profit and expanding businesses. It can be hoped that in the coming years the corporations will learn to maintain compatibility between the environment as well their businesses.