Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Different successful corporations in this world are working constantly for the betterment of the society. Using a good public image and business strategy, they are also making a lot of profit. The prompt raises a controversial issue of whether the main purpose of a corporations is to promote well-being of the societies and environments or not. I strongly agree with the fact that it is the responsibility of every corporation to work for the well-being of the society and the environment in which they operate. Only making money should not be the only purpose of a corporation. There are some reasons for my stand to the given issue.

To begin, if any corporation works for the betterment of a society, people will appreciate them much. They also share with others that this corporations are doing good for the well-being of the society. In this way, a better image of the corporation grows up. To illustrate this point, let us look at an example. In our country, the Grameen Bank is doing a fantastic job for the poor by giving them small loan against a small interest. They are working for the betterment of the poor people. Because poor people have not enough money to start a business and alleviate unemployment. In this regard, Grameen Bank came forward. They offered small interest loan to the poor villagers. Many poor villagers in Bangladesh took their loan and became self-independent by starting their own firm. In this way, they contributed to the betterment of the society. They also received much appreciation from the outside world. Grameen Bank was also awarded Noble prize for their contribution to the society by removing poverty and unemployment. They also have started their branches to the other countries to work for the betterment of the poor people around the world. They also made a good profit by their ‘social business movement’. In this way we can see that not only they have made profit but also they worked for the betterment of the society. People also appreciated their work.

Furthermore, the purpose of only making money from the business without the betterment of the society gives a negative impact to the customers. In the long run, they will fall behind due to their lack of good image. From real life experience, we can see the fact. Many corporations in this world have failed due to their only money making purpose.

Finally, Corporations need to consider the environmental impacts when they operate in a region. If their waste pollution hampers the environment, the people and the society will suffer. People will not appreciate this type of work. They will urge the other people not to buy their product. Different international buyers takes the product of the corporations who maintain environmental safety. If they do not maintain the environmental safety, they will also their international market. So making money should not be the only purpose.

In conclusion, some argue that successfulness of a company depends upon only making a huge profit. However, without working for the betterment of the society and the environment they cannot be successful in the long run. So every corporation should work for the betterment of the society as well as making profit. Without making money or profit a company cannot sustain .So both is needed basically.