Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What is the responsibility of corporations in terms of their relationship with our society? There exist two contradictory viewpoints: while someone claims that corporations bears a responsibility to promote the overall well-being of the societies, others argue that the only responsibility of corporations is to make as much as money as possible under the restriction of the law. From my perspective of view, I tend to give my support to the former because of long term benefits for both corporations and society, while I reserve my approval for the latter, since it would bring about several detrimental effects on the corporations and our society as a whole.

To start off, if we ponder over how any corporation could survive and flourish in society, we should agree with the viewpoint that corporations have to strive for sustainable profit under societal ethics, because only grasping with sufficient profit could build up solid foundation for their existence an further development. On one hand, under common situation one company possess great amount of cost during its daily operations. Therefore, without continual and stable income for offsetting such costs, they are incapable of keeping normal operations in a short time, let alone getting opportunities in future. Additionally, when one company lacks of sufficient financial supports for its survival, it could lead to severe consequence: many employees have to be laid off and such burden would inevitably be consigned to the society. From both of the aforementioned perspective, it is only through grasping with enough profits in the scope of the law boundary that companies could persist and avoid dire situations what results from its bad financial status.

However, tenable as such viewpoint holds in the aforementioned case, I have to contend that only focusing on profit without considering liabilities for the society could backfire, which could trigger many negative consequence for both society and corporations themselves. Once company exaggerates and even fabricates the ramification brought about by economical gains and totally neglects its societal responsibility, many essential characteristics of human being will be destoried in the process and such destruction could in turn impede with further development of company per se. Take Huawei, one of most famous company in China as example. Because it exclusively bombast for profit-gains and resort to any possible means to maximize its profit under the law, such as over-time working and money inspiration in bidding with rivals. Many employees in this company actually behaved immortally during business process, which are despised by citizens in society for their money-central principle. Such strategy could also do harm for itself: without higher morality for the society, majority of employees could immediately leave company once their financial expectation can't be satisfied. From long-term development, such result is also tragedy for itself.

Last but not least, compared with sole dedication on their own profits, bravely undertaking responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments could behoove companies in the long term and further endow them with much more prosperous gain in financial perspective. On one hand, bearing societal responsibility is a potential treasure for companies, because such good reputation could gradually impact with citizens and they would prefer to select their product when doing purchases. Additionally, companies could also establish a wider partnership with society and other entities related with environmental topics, which inevitably help them have a better collaboration with others in their future development. All of these can't be considered only cost or input, but also be regarded as potential opportunities in the long run, which could in turn endow them with more benefits in the future.

In summary, it is true that any companies should make endeavor to generate sufficient profit, otherwise they can't persist in society. However, as discussed before, it is evident that exclusively focusing on their own profit gains could impede them and healthy development of our society. On the contrary, it is beneficial for corporations to enthusiastically participate with improvement of the well-being of citizens an environments, because such activities could win more repute and in turn guarantee their prosperity in the longer time scale.