Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Should major policy decision always be left to politicians and government experts or otherwise be involved with the public? In my humble view, it is true that political officials and field experts are more informed and insightful so that significant decisions should be mainly decided by themselves. In addition, under some circumstances, it is also infeasible to engage with the public. However, except the aforementioned cases, public officials should stick to their responsibility for the public.

To start off, I have to express my appreciation for both reason and claim part of this issue. On one hand, politicians and experts possess comprehensive knowledge and incisive foresight to make sensible decisions, since they are social elites who received more superior education that that of the public. Additionally, their predominant social positions endow them with greater advantage to access more inclusive information: more encyclopedic data even sensitive data are open to them, which facilitate them to make more sensible decisions. For supporting my point of view, we can no further go for Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal Policy. Leveraging economic theories learnt from in courses and economists, Roosevelt recognized incorrigible weaknesses of free market, which drive him to propose an imaginative combination between governmental regulation a free market strategy. Furthermore, with unique power of president, comprehensive statistics, such as industrial status, are all collected and represented to him, which serves to evince and adjust with his judgement.

Furthermore, under some circumstances, officials are not allowed to glean feedback from the public, thus, they have to rely on their own. In this first place, urgent incidents are prevalent in public security domain, in which split-second decision has to be made immediately. Under such situation, to initiate demotic survey and collect feedback would be too quixotic to deliver in-time solution. Also, it is highly likely that many policies might be engaged with sensitive information. As a result, once exposed to the public, we can easily foresee great risks accompanying by. Moreover, given such information is usually fraught with technical jargons, inquiring with the public might finally become in vain. China's nuclear weapon development in 1950s is a case in point. Confronted with external challenges during that time, leaders of the Republic of China has to depend on their own will to lay down development plan and kept confident for the demotic. Had they revealed to the public and waited for their response, such endeavor might be thwarted by rivals and turned in vain ultimately.

However, this doesn't mean that people's will and advice could be ignored during decision-making. Instead, politicians should always adhere to carry out people's desire. First of all, public officials' central role in regulating the public obliges them to work for their citizens' benefits. In addition, they are simultaneously citizens themselves, which give them unique insights and understanding of citizens' requests. In this sense, it is necessary for them to well trace with people's desires and represent them during laying down various policies. This is also one motive behind Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal Policy. Observing industrial workers plagued by unemployment and lack of sufficient job positions, Roosevelt further explored potential demand from the public security: mass of public constructions had been put forwards, which bring unemployed workers back to jobs. Such policy reflected with people's urgent need, and therefore had received wide applauded from lay-offs and the public as well.

In summary, politicians and government experts should hinge on their own judgement to make significant decision, because they are capable of doing so and special situations force them to do so. However, given their essential responsibility, it is compulsory to abide with the public and enact policies conforming to true desire of the demotic.