Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Should major policy decisions always be left to politicians and other government experts? I admit that, due to diverse thinking directions and specific moral issues, leaving every major police decision to politicians and other government experts may not always satisfy, or even harm, the public. However, given the consideration that not only politicians and government experts are informed and insightful elites, but also leaving those decisions to the general public can cause more severe consequences, I still maintain that significiant policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

To begin with, politicians and other government experts have unparalleled advantages over the general public to make major policy decisions. More specifically, it is unassailable that nearly all politicians and other government specialists are elites with excellent abilities. Most of them graduated from famous universities with relatively well-established knowledge systems and insightful perspectives to support them in making wise policy decisions. In addition, within the political platform, their political positions and influence can gain them more inclusive information. In other words, more comprehensive or even sectary data are opened to them, facilitating them to make wiser decisions. Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal can be an excellent example to support the above statement. Combining what he learned from courses and other economic specialists, Roosevelt realized the incorrigible weaknesses of a free market, driving him to propose an imaginative combination of governmental regulation and free marketing strategies. Moreover, based on his unique president’s power, he can collect comprehensive statistical data to verify and modify his policies timely, promoting the success of the New Deal. Therefore, compared with the information-limited and even cognitively deficient general public, politicians and other government experts can be better decision-makers to a large degree.

However, I acknowledge that, to a certain degree, completely leaving major policy decisions to politicians and other government specialists can lead to some questions. While possessing higher political abilities and better judgement, it is hard to ensure that every politician can maintain a high moral level. That is to say, there exist, more or less, politicians in each country who abuse their power to earn money by harming the people’s interests. For instance, after receiving a large amount of money, some politicians re-approved factories with a serious population to run. In addition, because of the inherent nature of objectivity, politicians usually make decisions that serve the long-term interests of nations, which inevitably may not always align with the immediate concerns of the people. For example, Shanghai's strict garbage sorting policy is conducive to the sustainable development of society, but it has brought problems to citizens' lives in the short term.

Nevertheless, do the questions mentioned above prove that politicians and other government experts cannot always be the major political decision-makers? From the practical perspective, the answer is no since if we sometimes let the general public be the major policy decision-markers, more troubles will be created. Firstly, the opinions of the public can hardly be identical. While the public may apply a vote to make final decisions, the winner does not have the force power, and the loser may seek several excuses, such as a black curtain, to ask for re-vote or just not cooperate. In addition, even if the public unites their opinions, how to exert or regulate can be a new issue. Obviously, as the policy maker, the public should decide the details of exertion methods, and they should choose someone to lead. However, in this way, they are at risk of creating a new government and harming the stability and development of the current society.

In sum, while I admit it may be imperfect, considering of the accessibility of information, the comprehensiveness of knowledge, and feasibility, it is better to always leave the major political decisions to politicians and other government experts than involve the general public. After all, there is no country in the world where the government does not decide on major policies. Moreover, in the future, the government can reduce the aforementioned possible problems through public monitoring policies.